*All fields required unless otherwise indicated.
Recording Options are available by selecting Options on any screen from which you can schedule a program to record. For more information on how to change recording options, see How do I change recording options? or click here to watch a video overview.
This option ONLY appears on Series3 and Premiere DVRs, and ONLY if the show you are scheduling a Season Pass or individual recording which is on more than one channel. To see how many other channels are available for a show look for the gray number in parenthesis to the left of the current selected channel. Select the channel to display which other channels are available.
For example: C.S.I.: Crime Scene Investigators airs on local standard and high definition CBS channels, and standard and high definition Spike channels. You would have the option to choose from 4 channels when creating a Season Pass or individual recording.
Use the left or right arrow to select the channel you wish to record the show on.
IMPORTANT: Once you have created the Season Pass or individual recording you cannot change the channel. However, you can setup a Season Pass or individual recording for the other channels if you wish.
When scheduling a recording, this option will allow you to specify the video quality of the recording on an analog channel (Basic, Medium, High, and Best). While this option may be available when you record on a digitally broadcast channel, the program will record only at the quality that is broadcast.
TiVo Premiere 4 and XL4/Elite do not display Record Quality. These TiVo boxes only record digital cable channels at Best quality.
Series3, Premiere, or Premiere XL DVRs with digital input (cable or OTA) will always display Always best on digital channels.
Keep At Most
This option allows you to set the maximum number of episodes to save as part of a series (e.g., if you choose to keep two episodes, the first episode will be deleted when the third is recorded). The default is five episodes, and changing the Keep at Most option can affect the Keep Until option in the following ways:
- If Keep Until is set to When Space Needed (the default), the most recent episodes will be kept, as described above.
- If Keep Until is set to Keep Until I Delete, all episodes recorded will be kept until the Keep at Most limit is reached. For example, if Keep at Most is set to three episodes and Keep Until is set to Keep Until I Delete, recording will stop after three episodes until you delete one or more of the episodes.
NOTE: Keep at Most is only available for Season Passes, auto-recording WishLists, and repeated manual recordings.
Show Type (SD menus)
Allows you to choose Repeat and First Run, First Run Only, or All (with duplicates).
NOTE: Show Type is only available for Season Passes.
- Selecting First Run Only records only first run programs. An episode is considered a first run if its first airdate matches the current day. This means if an old program is being aired for the first time on a new channel, the DVR may consider it a first run.
- Selecting Repeat and First Run records all episodes that have specific program descriptions and that have not been recorded within the last 28 days. This is the default.
- Selecting All (with duplicates) records all episodes, including episodes that have been recorded within the last 28 days.
Recording options (HD Menus)
Allows you to choose New only and New & reruns.
NOTE: For TiVo boxes with HD menus All (with duplicates) can be selected through Manage recordings & downloads > To Do list.
- Selecting New Only records only first run programs. An episode is considered a first run if its first airdate matches the current day. This means if an old program is being aired for the first time on a new channel, the DVR may consider it a first run.
- Selecting New & reruns records all episodes that have specific program descriptions and that have not been recorded within the last 28 days. This is the default.
Allows you to choose Keep Until I Delete or When Space Needed. When Space Needed (the default) is selected, the oldest programs will be deleted as space is needed to record new programs. When Keep Until I Delete is selected, programs will be saved until you manually delete them. If the hard drive fills up with programs marked Keep Until I Delete, the DVR will stop recording new programs until you free up space by deleting programs.
This option allows you to start recording a program before it is scheduled to begin (1–5 or 10 minutes prior). The default is On Time. Using this option may create conflicts with other recordings. For more information, see My program was not recorded or was deleted early.
This option allows you to end a recording after the scheduled end of a program (1, 2, 5, 15, 30 minutes, 1 hour, 1.5 hours, or 3 hours after). The default is On Time. Using this option may create conflicts with other recordings. For more information, see My program was not recorded or was deleted early.