How to Clear & Delete Everything

Print this page


This procedure will return your TiVo DVR to its factory settings, which will erase all Season Passes, WishLists, and settings.

This can take several hours to complete, so plan accordingly.

IMPORTANT: If you have a DVR with CableCARD(s), you will need to have each CableCARD paired again after the DVR completes the Clear and Delete Everything process. If you tune to a copy-protected channel, a screen will pop up to notify you that you need to contact your cable provider. Analog, unencrypted, and encrypted channels that are not copy-protected will be viewable without having the cards paired.


Clear & Delete Everything

  1. Go to the Clear & Delete Everything screen:

  2. Roamio Series and Premiere Series DVRs

    From TiVo Central > Settings & Messages > Help > Restart or Reset System > Clear & Delete Everything

    Series3 and earlier DVRs

    From TiVo Central > Messages & Settings > Restart or Reset System > Clear & delete everything

  3. As a safety measure, you will need to press Thumbs Down three times and then press Enter to begin the Clear & Delete Everything.

 

Please rate this article to help us improve your web support experience

Rate this article:
neutral

Feedback submitted. Thank you!
Support requests cannot be sent through this form. If you need additional help, please contact TiVo Customer Support.